Tim TrottTim TrottYou are the creator of your destiny

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Triangle

Triangulum is a small northern constellation whose three brightest stars, of third and fourth magnitude, form an elongated triangle.


Triangulum Mythology

An early name of the constellation was Sicilia, because Ceres, patron goddess of Sicily, was claimed to have begged Jupiter that the island be placed in the heavens.

Further Information

Triangulum is the location of the Triangulum Galaxy, M33, one of the members of the Local Group. It is about 2.9 million light years away, and at magnitude 5.8 is sufficiently bright that it can be glimpsed with the naked eye under dark skies.

Triangulum Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.