Tim TrottTim TrottWhen nothing goes right, go left

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Shield

It is one of the few constellations (with Coma Berenices) that owes its name to an historical figure.


Scutum Mythology

Being a modern constellation, Scutum has no mythology associated with it. It was designed to represent Janina Coat of Arms of Polish king Jan III Sobieski.

Further Information

The original name Scutum Sobiescianum (Sobieski's Shield) was introduced in late 1683 by Hevelius as commemoration of the victory of the Christian forces led by Polish king and hero John III Sobieski in the battle of Vienna.


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.