Tim TrottTim TrottA journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Arrow

Sagitta is the third-smallest of all constellations (only Equuleus and Crux are smaller). Ptolemy included it in his list of 48 constellations. At that time, however, it was even smaller, spanning only about 4 sq. deg. It's also on the list of 88 constellations now acknowledged by the IAU.


Sagitta Mythology

Although Sagitta doesn't contain any bright stars, many cultures have seen an arrow in it [1], among them the Persians, Hebrews, Greeks and Romans. So there are various stories trying to explain the meaning of Sagitta. The two most important ones both take into account the neighbouring constellations Hercules, which had in earlier times been identified as a stag, (to the west) and Aquila (to the east).

Further Information

Being located not very far to the north of the equator, this constellation can be seen from everywhere except for the southernmost part of the world.

Sagitta Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.