Tim TrottTim TrottNothing is impossible

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Winged Horse

Pegasus has an appearance resembling a grazing horse, with a large square area as its body.


Pegasus Mythology

Due to the presence of the 4 brightest stars in the square, i.e. the 4 horses of Pegasus, this may be part of the origin of the myth of the Mares of Diomedes, one of The Twelve Labours of Hercules, together with another feature in the Zodiac sign of Aquarius, namely Aquarius itself, pouring out the waters.

Further Information

The star δ Pegasi, one of the 4 stars in Pegasus square, was later considered to be part of Andromeda. By moving the star, the square became a triangle attached to a stick body, thus resembling a wing. As a winged horse, Pegasus features in Greek mythology as its namesake, Pegasus.

Pegasus Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.