Tim TrottTim TrottThe time is always right to do what is right

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Unicorn

Monoceros is a faint constellation on the winter night sky.


Monoceros Mythology

Monoceros is a modern constellation, generally supposed to be named by the Dutch astronomer and theologian Petrus Plancius in 1613.

Further Information

Monoceros is an almost invisible constellation, with only a few fourth magnitude stars. Monoceros does have something interesting to see with the aid of a small telescope. β Monocerotis is an impressive triple star system, the three stars form a triangle which seems to be fixed.

Monoceros Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.