Tim TrottTim TrottThe time is always right to do what is right

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Lynx

It is so named because it is a relatively faint constellation, and one would supposedly need the eyes of a lynx to see it.


Lynx Mythology

Since Lynx is a particularly faint constellation, and was not recognised before the 17th century, it has no pre 17th century mythology associated with it. Johannes Hevelius is said to have named the constellation lynx because only the lynx-eyed (or those of good sight) would have been able to recognise it. Hevelius only mapped the constellation, which is little more than a few dim stars zig zagging in a line, because he wanted to fill the open gap between the constellations Ursa Major and Auriga.

Further Information

No further details exist for this item.


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.