Tim TrottTim TrottFree your mind

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Hare

Lepus was one of Ptolemy's 48 constellations, and counts also among the 88 modern constellations. This constellation should not be confused with Lupus.


Lepus Mythology

Lepus is an old constellation, it doesn't have much mythology that came with it. The only important mythology is that Lepus, the hare, was put in the stars for the Great Hunter, Orion to chase.

Further Information

Lying just south of Orion, and possibly representing a hare being chased by him.


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.