Tim TrottTim TrottJust live

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Lion

Leo is a constellation of the zodiac. Leo lies between dim Cancer to the west and Virgo to the east.


Leo Mythology

In Greek mythology, it was identified as the Nemean Lion (and may have been a source of the tale) which was killed by Hercules during one of his twelve labours, and subsequently put into the sky.

Further Information

This constellation contains many bright stars, such as Regulus (α Leonis), the lion's heart; Denebola (β Leonis); and Algieba (γ1 Leonis). Many other fainter stars have been named as well, such as Zosma (δ Leo), Chort (θ Leo), Al Minliar al Asad (ĸ Leo), Alterf (λ Leo), and Subra? (ο Leo).

Leo contains many bright galaxies, of which Messier 65, Messier 66, Messier 95, and Messier 96 are the most famous.

Leo Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.