Tim TrottTim TrottIt's not a bug. It's a feature.

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Lizard

Lacerta is one of the 88 official constellations acknowledged by the International Astronomical Union.


Lacerta Mythology

Being a modern constellation there is no mythology surrounding Lacerta.

Further Information

It doesn't contain any really bright stars, no Messier object, no galaxy brighter than 14.5m, no globular clusters and not a single named star. Correspondingly it is rather difficult to find. The northern part lies on the Milky Way. Lacerta is located between Cygnus, Cassiopeia and Andromeda on the northern celestial sphere.

Lacerta Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.