Tim TrottTim TrottJust live

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Little Horse

Equleuus is the second smallest constellation, at 72 square degrees. The only constellation that is smaller is Crux.


Equuleus Mythology

Equuleus is associated with the foal Celaris, who was the brother of the winged horse Pegasus. Celaris was given to Castor by Mercury.

Further Information

There are few variable stars in Equuleus. Only around 25 are known, most of which are obscure. γ Equ is an α CVn star, ranging between magnitudes 4.58m and 4.77m over a period of around 12.5 minutes. ρ Equ is a Mira variable that ranges between magnitudes 8.0m and 15.7m over nearly 261 days.


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.