Tim TrottTim TrottFree your mind

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.

Coma Berenices

Berenice's Hair

Coma Berenices is a traditional asterism that has since become a constellation. It is located near Leo, and was originally considered Leo's tail.

Coma Berenices

Coma Berenices Mythology

Coma Berenices has been known as a distinct asterism since ancient Greek times. The Eratosthenes referred to the it as both Ariadne's Hair and Berenices' Hair. Ptolemy referred to it as the lock (of hair); however, he did not list it as one of his 48 constellations, considering it as part of Leo. For many years, Coma Berenices was considered usually as the tuft in Leo's tail, or sometimes as part of Virgo.

Further Information

Coma Berenices contains the North Galactic Pole, at right ascension 12h 51m 25s and declination 27° 07' 48" (epoch J2000.0)

Coma Berenices Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.