Tim TrottTim TrottDon't look back - you're not going that way

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.

Canis Minor

The Little Dog

Canis Minor is one of the 88 modern constellations, and was also in Ptolemy's list of 48 constellations.

Canis Minor

Canis Minor Mythology

Canis Minor was considered to be the smaller of the two hunting dogs of Orion. However, the ancient Greeks did not recognize it as a distinct constellation, and thus originally only considered Orion to have had one dog.

Further Information

Canis Minor is a small constellation mainly consisting of the two stars. Procyon is the eighth brightest star in the night sky. Procyon means 'anterior dog' in Greek, as it rises before the Dog Star, Sirius, of Canis Major.

Canis Minor Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.