Tim TrottTim TrottIt's not a bug. It's a feature.

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.

Canes Venatici

The Hunting Dogs

Canes Venatici is a small northern constellation which lies between Bootes, Leo and Coma Berenices.

Canes Venatici

Canes Venatici Mythology

It is supposed to represent the dogs Chara and Asterion held on a leash by Bootes. The northern of the two dogs is Asterion, the southern dog is named Chara.

Further Information

Canes Venatici contains five Messier objects, including four galaxies. One of the more significant galaxies in Canes Venatici is the Whirlpool Galaxy (M51, NGC 5194) and NGC 5195, a small barred spiral galaxy that is seen face on. This was the first galaxy recognized as having a spiral structure, this structure being first observed by Lord Rosse in 1845.

Canes Venatici Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.