Tim TrottTim TrottA journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Constellation Guide

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.

Some of the constellations have very familiar names, such as Leo, Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius. There are 12 of these constellations and they form the Zodiac. The Zodiac constellations follow the line of the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the Sun on the celestial sphere.


The Charioteer

Auriga is a northern constellation. It was one of the 48 constellations listed by Ptolemy.


Auriga Mythology

Auriga is said to represent Myrtilus, the charioteer of King Oenomaus. The king was jealous of anyone who came to seek his daughter's hand in marriage. Being noted for his love of horses, the king announced that all suitors would have to take part in a chariot race against him and, should they lose, pay with their lives.

Further Information

Auriga has many open clusters and other deep sky objects because the Milky Way runs through it. The three brightest open clusters are M36, M37 and M38, all of which are visible in binoculars or a small telescope. A larger telescope resolves individual stars.

Auriga Photographs


More Constellations

Share this post

My website and its content are free to use without the clutter of adverts, tracking cookies, marketing messages or anything else like that. If you enjoyed reading this article, or it helped you in some way, all I ask in return is you leave a comment below or share this page with your friends. Thank you.