Tim TrottTim TrottFree your mind

Equipment Reviews

Reviews of astronomical equipment and telescopes that I have purchased and used. These astronomy equipment reviews are based on my own personal experience as an amateur astronomer, and are in no way influenced by any manufacturer or retailer.

Astronomy Filters
01/05/2009Equipment Reviews
Astronomy filters are used to eliminate unwanted light and bring out fine details of an object, be it planetary, lunar of deep space. Every object has a filter to best enhance observations.
45° Erecting Prism
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
Tired of watching everything in reverse? Need a different angle from your focuser? Try a 45 degree erecting prism which will correctly orientate the image.
Want a thing long enough and you don'tChinese Proverb
Telescope Afocal Adaptor for Cameras
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
Using an Afocal Adaptor to connect your digital camera to your telescope and use an eyepiece for increased magnification.
T-Mount Adaptor for DSLR Cameras
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
A T-Mount adaptor is essential if you wish to connect your dSLR camera to a telescope.
Antares Laser Collimator
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
Accurate collimation is vital for image quality in Newtonian optics, and this laser collimator makes the job so easy.
SkyWatcher Auto Focuser
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
SkyWatcher Auto Focuser adds dual speed motor control to the standard 2" rack and pinion focuser making the small adjustments needed to obtain perfect focus much easier.
SkyWatcher Night Vision Torch
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
SkyWatcher night vision torch features red leds allowing you to see in the dark without disrupting your night vision. A must for everyone who has fallen over in the dark!
Skywatcher Red Dot Finder Scope
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
The standard red dot finder scope that comes with most Skywatcher telescopes.
Telrad Reflex Red Dot Finder
30/04/2009Equipment Reviews
One of the first gadgets I acquired is my Telrad reflex red dot finder. I was experiencing difficulty locating objects in the sky, mainly because I haven't learned every star visible yet.
Skywatcher StarTravel 102 EQ1
07/06/2007Equipment Reviews
I have just bought another telescope, this time a short tube refractor.